Hot Cross Buns (that aren’t hot)

Happy Good Friday and long Easter weekend everyone!

What better way to celebrate Good Friday than delicious hot cross buns, coming right out of your refrigerator? 

Image

This is not your traditional floury fluffy buns, but my raw vegan version tastes exactly (if not better) than those the bakeries bake.

Raw= no baking time = no yeast = time saver= more time to enjoy your long weekend!

What’s not to love? 🙂

Go make these now!

Ingredients:

Buns

2/3 cup oats, gluten-free if possible

3 1/2 tbsp raw flax almond butter (click on link for my recipe!)*

1/4 cup dates or raisins

2 tbsp. agave

1/2 tbsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Add-ins: Cacao nibs, chopped dried fruit (optional)

*for the nut butter, if you don’t want to make my recipe (which I totally recommend you do make), feel free to sub with almond butter and a big sprinkle of ground flax seeds! 🙂

Crosses

2 tbsp. coconut butter

2 tbsp. agave

1 tsp. vanilla extract (I used a heaping tsp. because I love vanilla)

To make the buns, throw the oats in your food processor and pulse until it’s a rough flour.

Add in your amazing nut butter, and pulse again until the oats start to stick together.

Throw in the rest of the ingredients (dates, agave, vanilla, cinnamon) and let the motor run and do its job  until it looks like…..

Image

Take a whiff, folks. Smell that deliciousness?

If your mixture is too dry, add in almond milk (or any non-dairy milk), one tsp. at a time.

If your mixture is too wet, add in more oats, little at a time.

I apologize in advance if the ingredient amounts are a little off, as I always add stuff ( and taste) as I go without measuring cups/spoons…

I just like to keep my dish-washing at a minimum. 😉 and also because I like to go with my instincts.

After your “dough” has that perfect consistency, it is time for you to add any add-in’s!

Because I’m going to be sharing these babies with a spoiled friend of mine 😉 who gave me the request of “no dried fruit please”, I had to omit the add-ins. (She gave me no response when I replied with “How about Cacao Nibs”, so I figured I’d just leave it plain and simple)

Oh, and she also claimed that “Hot cross buns are so weird like the gooey stuff that makes the cross always feels like glue”. Well, she’ll change her mind after eating these! 😀

After the add-in’s are incorporated, it’s time to stick your hands in and shape these bunlets!

Image

Mine are about the size of my palm, well quite a bit smaller, but you get the idea 😉

After you’re done with your buns, it’s time to make the infamous crosses! Admit it, without those crosses, these buns would just be “Hot Buns” (that aren’t hot)

Now on to the crosses:

Simply put your 3 ingredients in a little bowl and use your favourite spatula and mix ’em up!

Image

Like so… but this mixture is very dangerously tasty, so advance with caution 😉

If you’ve been reading my blog, you’d know that I love getting my hands into things, and getting my fingers messy.

..so…..

drop your necessary ziploc/ piping bag and dig your fingers into the coconutty mixture and make your crosses!

Image

Looks pretty good, eh?

I promise, I didn’t use any tools to make the cross, and I do not have any artistic ceramic background 😉

Image

I assure you; yours will look the same 😀

Image

I can’t stop photographing them!

Image

From my basket to yours, Happy Easter!

Hope you enjoy these tasty treats as much as I do!

P.S. Remember to share 😉

“Half for you and half for me, Between us two shall goodwill be”

2 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns (that aren’t hot)

Leave a Reply

